1 month old!


Dear Madi,

I can’t believe you have been here for 1 month already. Time is just going too fast.  I can’t stand it when people say that you are changing so much or getting so big.  I want you to stay little longer! 🙂

You have experienced a lot of firsts this month.  Your first car ride, your first walk in the stroller, first time using your play-mat, first time in the swing, etc.  The most amazing first though: your first smile.  You started out with those cute little smiles in your sleep…yeah yeah yeah, it was probably gas.  But it was so cute.  One time, your daddy licked your cheek while you slept (yeah, he’s weird) and you immediately sighed and got a huge smile on your face.  It was the cutest thing.  Just recently you have started smiling while you are awake and people are talking to you.  It is so sweet.  It still is a rare occurrence and is so precious.  You are so close to breaking out in huge smiles all the time.

You are generally a pretty laid back little girl. You love being held and snuggled.  Sometimes, when I put you up high on my shoulder, you put your arms on either side of my neck and hold on so tight.  I just love snuggle time with you.  You also love being in your carrier.  And I love it because I can still snuggle with you and actually get a few things done.

You still have a tendency to get overwhelmed when there is too much going on and too many people around you.  And when that happens, you get a bit over tired and fight sleep so much.  The only time that you really cry is when you get over-tired like this.  And then boy oh boy do you cry!  It is one of the most heart-breaking things that I have gone through because there is just nothing I can do to make it better.  I just have to hold you and love on you until you finally fall asleep.

The one challenge that we have really faced is that you are not a great sleeper. Strike that. You are a great sleeper…as long as someone is holding you.  You are not so great at sleeping in your own crib.  But we are working on it.  Hopefully, by this time next month you will be sleeping like a champ. 🙂

As I sit here writing this, you are cuddled up in my lap making all this adorable little baby noises.  This time cuddling you is my favorite part of every day. Sometimes I hate it when we have a busy day or lots of people over because it means that I don’t get to spend as much time just doing nothing but holding you.  And I am not the only one that feels that way.  Grammy spends some time with you most mornings just holding you and talking to you and snuggling with you.  It is such a stress reliever.

Anyway, I love you all the way to the moon…and back.  I can’t wait for lots more firsts with you.

  The day you were born.

First time in your swing.

First family photo.

First time with your play-mat.

One month old.  You really have changed!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

