Adventures in cloth diapering

Madi began wearing cloth diapers this week. Most of you won’t care or will find this post boring…but I am not writing for you, I am writing for me. πŸ™‚ Here’s my 2 cents on the issue.

I decided to go with cloth diapers for a number of reasons. First, money. although cloth diapers come with a fairly hefty upfront cost (depending on the brand/type you chose), in the long wrong they save quite a bit. I have already experienced this. Secondly, the environment. Let’s be honest…disposable diapers are not the most environmentally friendly thing ever. Also, have you seen a baby with a cloth diaper butt? Cuteness. πŸ˜‰

I spent what feels like 1 million hours researching cloth diapers. There is a whole subculture of moms who use cloth diapers. There is a language filled with acronyms that are not always the easiest to figure out. I had finally settled on bumgenius. BUT…after a good long time on bedrest, I was broke. And bumgenius run about $25-ish a diaper. I just didn’t have that kind of money. After a conversation with my mom, she convinced me to just give prefolds a try. She insisted that they weren’t that bad. She used them for me and she survived. πŸ™‚ Plus, for just about $80, I was able to buy 2 dozen diapers, 4 snappis, and 6 vinyl pants. Everything I need to get going.

SO…I started out with disposable diapers for a few weeks because 1) Madi was too little for the diapers. I didn’t get the smaller prefolds because they didn’t seem worth it for the short amount of time she would be in them. 2) I had found some great deals on some disposables. 3) (and the biggest factor) I felt like I might be a little overwhelmed with new mommy-hood to also jump right in to the world of diapering.

I finally decided to start this week for a few reasons. First of all, I was running out of diapers. πŸ™‚ Also, Madi is getting bigger…much bigger. The diapers still are a bit big and have to be folded over quite a bit, but they are much more reasonable now. Madi and I have gotten in to a good routine and I don’t feel quite so overwhelmed. But most importantly, diaper rash. Madi has had 4 diaper rashes in 7 weeks. Absurd. The poor thing. The only diapers that don’t seem to give her horrible diaper rash are pampers. Of course, pampers are crazy expensive. Even if the other reasons for using cloth diapers were not valid reasons, i would use cloth just to help with her little rash.

So…how’s it going? I love it! I was not initially sure I would be able to pin those stinking things…but, I don’t use pins. I use Snappis. They are the best. They essentially work like those little things that hold ace bandages on. Those little “teeth” hold the diaper in place. So, I am actually able to change a cloth diaper in about the same amount of time and effort as I can change a disposable.

Does the poop go everywhere? This was a big concern of mine honestly and a big reason I thought I wanted to use something like BumGenius instead of prefolds. The answer…nope. Madi has had 1 poop explosion this week. Using disposables, she was having 2-3 a day. Yup. She has much less poop issues with the cloth diapers.

How’s the laundry? I was the diapers twice. Once using cold/hot and once using hot/hot and then run them through the dryer. No problems. So far, they are coming out with no stains and no stink. This might change as she gets older and her poop gets nastier, but so far so good.

How’s the diaper rash? Gone. I will continue to evaluate to see if it stays away.

I am still using pampers over night as she pees like crazy at night and I am not waking her up every 2 hours to change her. But, if I only use 1 disposable a day, I can afford to buy pampers. πŸ™‚

So….there’s my plug for cloth diapers. Oh, and her booty looks cute in them too. LoL.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

