Shots and Snuggles

Madi got her first set of shots on Thursday.  It was not something I was looking forward to. At all.  I was feeling stressed and emotional about it before we even left to go to the doctor.  But, on the way there I pulled myself together.

Well….we got to the doctor’s office and Roger looks at me and says, “You’re going to cry aren’t you?”  Power of suggestion.  I lost it.  I started crying before they even came in with the needles. I am a sissy. 🙂

Anyway, Madi did great.  Of course she cried.  But the nurses were excellent and the whole thing was over in about 5 seconds.  And Madi stopped crying the instant I picked her up off the table.  She fell asleep in the car and I actually got a little bit of Christmas shopping done before heading in to work.  For the first few hours at work she was all smiles and giggles.  When I put her down for a nap, she didn’t get up for 5 hours.  When she woke up, she felt a little warm.  When I took her temp, she had a fever of 101.  I stripped her down to her diaper and by the time we got home, her temperature was back to normal.

That night was the worst night of sleep she got in a long time.  She was awake and wanted to nurse every hour and a half.  I felt like one of the walking dead that night and next day.  She was then pretty stinking cranky up to today.  She would be smiling and then all of a sudden just start crying and be completely inconsolable.  It was rough.  She was also more of a mommy’s girl than ever.  I certainly don’t mind holding her and I love that she wants to be with me.  But between the crying and the constant nursing, I was totally beat.

Well, last night, she slept from 10 until 4 straight and then didn’t get up for the morning until 10:30.  Man, it did us both a world of good.  She was in such a good mood today.  The part I loved the most though was that she was extra snuggly today.  And not in a whiny. upset way.  She was smiling and giggling and cuddling.  It was good for my heart. 🙂  Twice today I was holding her and she just put her head on my shoulder and fell asleep.  She hasn’t done that in at least a month.  And you better believe, I just sat down and held her while she slept.  She pretty much always puts up a small fight before sleep and then naps in her crib.  So I really treasured her snuggles and peaceful sleeping today.

So, no.  Nothing exciting happened today.  But it is a day that I don’t want to forget. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shots and Snuggles

  1. Katie says:

    I love your post, Jill. Reminds us all to stop and appreciate what’s important most!

  2. Kaye Centers says:

    I understand, Honey.

Leave a Reply

