Mommy pet peeves and other ramblings

So, I am almost a month behind on posting Madi’s 6 month blog.  And…I am not going to do it today either.  Work has been keeping me incredibly busy.  Then I was waiting for her 6 month pictures to arrive so I could include those in the post…and now, well…I am not sitting at the computer that has her pictures on it.  So…I am really hoping to get it done this weekend as her 7 month birthday is just around the corner!

Anyway, there have been a couple of things that have been bugging me lately and what a better place to air my grievances.  So, please excuse me while I complain for a few minutes.

1) Public bathrooms without baby changing tables.  I have had some horrible experiences with public restrooms that don’t have them.  I was at a Wendy’s and Madi had a horrible explosion.  Ended up having to change her in my car on a freezing cold day…next time, I will be using the table…sorry patrons eating next to me but I gotta do what I gotta do.  Gas stations are also horrible for this.  When my sister, Madi, and Max went to Alabama there were numerous occasions on which I had to chose between the bathroom floor and the car.  Not cool.
So, I did a little research.  One of those bathroom changing stations costs approximately $220.  Really Wendy’s?  You cannot afford $220?  Really?  Ugh.

2) People who touch my baby. Listen, I am happy for family, friends, etc to hold and kiss and cuddle Miss Madison.  But….if I don’t know you, please don’t touch her.  No offense but I don’t go up to you and touch you…that would be weird and creepy.  So why is it ok for you to come up and touch my child?  I don’t get it.  Smile, tell me she’s cute, wave at her.  These are all perfectly acceptable.  But please don’t touch her.

3)  I don’t really have any more baby related complaints. 🙂

So, there is one thing that I have recently noticed about myself that I really don’t like.  I am way too plugged in.  I am online or watching tv or what have you way too much.  First thing I do when I wake up in the morning? Check Facebook.  What do I do when I am up with Madi in the middle of the night?  Read news, random mind-numbing websites.  During the day I must check facebook at least 5 times a day.  It’s so simple to do…I always have my phone with me…so I just hit the little app and away I go.  I am never on for very long, just a couple of minutes.  But, do I really care so much about people I haven’t seen or talked to on the phone in years that I have to check up on them multiple times a day?  No…I just do it because it’s there.  What an annoying habit I have.
I am seriously considering deleting the facebook app from my phone.  It’s not that there is anything inherently wrong with facebook or even checking it frequently.  But generally speaking those 5 minutes could be spend doing any number of more productive things.  In 5 minutes, I could have all my laundry put away, in 5 minutes I could have read a few more pages in the book I am reading, in 5 minutes I could have organized Madi’s dresser.  It is sad when checking up on other people’s lives gets in the way of actually living your own.
In my defense, I rarely check facebook when Madi is awake…generally speaking it is just when she is napping.  But still, there are so many better uses of my time.  🙂

And with that, the little munchkin is awake…not only is it time to play, but it is also significantly harder and more time consuming to type with one hand. So, I’m out,

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

