A food journey Day 1

I have failed miserably at keeping a good blog for Madi.  It’s ok.  I forgive myself.  I have been busy being a Mommy to the most amazing little munchkin.  She seriously amazes me everyday with how sweet, smart, and silly she is.  As I write this, she is dancing like a fool to Patty Labelle.  Yup…that’s my girl.

Anyway, one of my last posts was about becoming a runner again.  What a running adventure it has been over the past year. In the last post, I wrote about being scared of running a 5k.  Since that post, I have run 6 5k’s, a 10k, and 3 half marathons.  I am still slower that a sloth but I am not only doing it, I am actually enjoying.

So with all this running, you’d think I would be in the best shape of my life.  Not so much.  More like I have used the exercise as an excuse to eat whatever I wanted.  I have resolved to make this summer the one where I finally get my eating under control.  So…I am going to try really hard to document what’s going on…mainly for myself.  I will write what I have eaten, what I liked, what I didn’t like, etc.  Like I said, it’s for me.  But if you want to spy…go ahead. 🙂

With that being said…Madi and I got to the gym this morning right as they were opening the doors to the Tot Spot.  I am so lucky that she loves to go in there…in fact, after my workout, she cried because she didn’t want to leave.  I got in a fairly decent 4 mile run in and biked a few miles.  I have had this nagging hip pain and have found that warming up and cooling down on the bike does wonders for it.

After the gym, we headed to the Farmers Market for the first time this season.  That was an adventure.  Madi tried to take a biet out of every single thing she could reach.  Luckily, I was fairly prepared for that and we only had to purchase 1 green pepper that she managed to sink her teeth in before I could grab it.  Although, if it had been up to her, she would have also gotten a bite of tomato, onion, cucumber, and some berries. 🙂

SO….onto today’s food…after we got home from the farmers market, I cooked us up some eggs and zucchini.  And cut up some strawberries.  Delicious.  The strawberries were really ripe and really juicy.  Which means that Madi had strawberry juice covering pretty much every inch of her body.

While Madi was napping, I used my brand new Ninja blender/food processor…which I am super excited about…and made some Cherry Almond Power Bars (you can find the recipe at http://camillestyles.com/food-2/the-perfect-bite-cherry-almond-power-bars-2/).  They are awesome.  I am not a big breakfast person but can find myself getting pretty hungry about mid-workout in the morning.  I think these might be a good solution for those days.  They are just almonds, flax seed, dried cherries, dried cranberries, and water.  Simple. Simple.  Plus, I am pretty sure Madi is going to love them.  I mean, they are pretty darn sticky…so obviously she will like them.

almond and cherry power bars

Then for dinner we had stuffed sweet potatoes with beans and greens(thekitchn.com)  with sweet potatoes and kale we picked up at the market today.  I have to admit, I was pretty skeptical.  I mean, I love kale chips but I had honestly never had cooked kale before.  And while I like sweet potatoes, I like them either as fries or packed full of brown sugar, butter, and cinnamon.  Well, let me tell you…this was delicious.  The potatoes we got at the market were huge…so just had a half and it was super satisfying.  The only recipe substitution I made was that I didn’t have a shallot…so I just used some onion and a little more garlic.  It was seriously so good.  I am looking forward to having some more soon. 🙂

stuffed sweet potato with beans and greens

So, that’s it for today.  I am not posting my pre-“diet” weight (somethings have no business being on the internet) but I will be weighing in weekly and will post if I make any progress. 🙂  Please share any go-to meals that you may love.  I am really trying not to eat anything processed and I don’t eat meat. 🙂

**UPDATE: Madi LOVES the cherry bars.  She was shoveling them in to her mouth as fast as possible.

madi eating cherry power bars

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

