A Food Journey — Day 2

So….I may have become slightly obsessed with searching recipes online.  Like no joke.  I am totally becoming pinterest/food blog queen.

Today’s food….

For breakfast I made a smoothie (http://www.dailygarnish.com/recipes?recipe_id=6048632).  This smoothie…for those of you too lazy to click on the link (and let’s be honest, that would be me) includes spinach, carrot, mango, strawberries, banana, flax seed, almond milk, water, and a touch of vanilla.  In theory, I love the idea of all that healthy goodness in a glass.

eat your fruits and veggies smoothie in blender

In practice, I have to admit…I did not love it.  The flavor was not bad…not amazing, but not bad.  BUT…the texture kind of made me want to throw up in my mouth.  It was just a bit grainy.  And Madi wanted nothing to do with it.  She took one sip, pushed it away, and said “Yuck!”  Haha.  I did google some solutions and I think that adding some extra liquid may help.  I am not convinced that I want to give this one another go though.  Smoothies, yes.  This one, maybe not.

eat your fruits and veggies smoothie in glass

So, I ended up having about a third of a glass of the smoothie and then a cherry power bar that I had made yesterday.  Those things are seriously amazing.

For lunch, I made Cranberry Walnut Kale Salad (http://www.shawncanblog.com/2013/01/cranberry-walnut-kale-salad.html).  Ummm….amazing.  Seriously, I love this stuff.  It tastes light and fresh but is also totally satisfying.  I also loved the textures in this.  I really like a crunch in pretty much every meal that I have and the walnuts here were perfect.  Plus, there is feta cheese in there.  I am not a huge cheese fan, but I do love some feta.  Want to know how much I liked this?  I ate it for dinner too.  🙂  Served it with a peach for lunch and some strawberries for dinner.  Delicious.

cranberry walnut kale salad

I also made some soup tonight in the slow-cooker to have for lunches the rest of the week.  But…I have to admit, it smelled so good, I had a small bowl of it for a bit of a snack.  But no guilt here…this soup is crazy low in calories so I could have had a big bowl and it would have been fine.  And it sure beats a bowl of ice cream. 🙂

bowl of veggie soup

I found the soup recipe online a long time ago and have made it lots and lots of times.  So, I can’t really link the recipe because I don’t remember where I got it from.  But I will tell you how to make it. Because like I said, it is awesome.  And super simple.  First of all, let me apologize for not having amounts for the spices.  That used to totally freak me out when I first started cooking…because HOW MUCH DO I USE??  How do I season to taste?? WHAT IF I PUT TOO MUCH IN?  I will say, I tend to season lightly.  I love the flavors of these vegetables so I put just a pinch-ish of all the spices.  You can always add more…but it is a little hard to remove spice. 🙂

So anyway….just dump the following things in to a crockpot and cook for about 6 hours…or until the sweet potatoes are the way you like them.

Medium onion, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

sweet potato, peeled and cut into 1 inch-ish cubes

2 carrots, peeled and cut into 1 inch-ish segments

1 cup of corn (I used fresh frozen corn…no need to thaw…just dump it it)

salt

pepper

allspice

paprika

bay leaf (make sure you fish that bad boy out before you serve it)

crushed red pepper

2 c frozen green beans

4 c vegetable broth

1 can of diced tomatoes, lightly drained (does that make sense?)

2 cans of cannellini beans, drained.

The End.

crockpot of veggie soup

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

