A Food Journey — Day 4

I have to admit…today was a boring food day.  I had a grumpy toddler on my hands and a full fridge of leftovers (Thank God).

For breakfast, I gave a smoothie another shot…but I left the veggies out.  Honestly, I have been getting plenty of veggies with the way I have been eating and I just felt like something sweet this morning.  Today was a traditional dump-what-you’ve-got-into-the-blender kind of smoothie.  I used a frozen banana, about a half cup of frozen mango, a half cup of frozen peaches, some peach greek yogurt, and water.  Smoothie recipes typically call for some sort of juice, nectar, etc but honestly, I just don’t think it is necessary.  For one, you have all the nutritious goodness from the food itself, you don’t need the extra calories, and there was so much sweetness going on, I didn’t need the juice to make it even sweeter.  It was delicious.  And even better, it got me through my workout without feeling hungry. But the best part, Madi liked it. 🙂  She especially liked it out of my cup!

peach mango smoothie

madi drinking peach mango smoothie

I ran 2 miles and biked 7 today at the gym and by the time I got home, it was lunch time and I was starving.  So, I had a big bowl of the soup I had made two days ago.  Still good. 🙂 And I am glad that I still have quite a bit in the fridge for the rest of the week.

While Madi “napped” (and by “napped” I mean talked to herself in her crib for 2 hours), my mom and I prepped some strawberries for the freezer.  We should be set on strawberries for smoothies for a good long while now.  In case you are wondering, the key to freezing strawberries so that they don’t become one big giant chunk-a-berry is to freeze them in a single layer on a cookie sheet after you clean and prep them.  Then, after they have frozen, you can transfer them to bags.  Trust me, it works. 🙂

For dinner, I had another sweet potato with beans and greens.  I had some leftover “beans and greens” in the fridge from Saturday night and I picked up a sweet potato at the store this evening.

So…not that you care, but I have been snacking on a lot of kale chips lately.  Yummo.  The only problem with them is that Madi loves them too.  Which really isn’t a problem for anything but the carpet.  Those things just sort of crumble when she bites into them…kale crumbles everywhere. 🙂  Again…just a little tip in case any of you are wondering.  There are a million recipes for kale chips on the internet.  They all call for different preps, different cooking times, and different cooking temperatures.  I have made TONS of kale chips in the last year or so since the family I work for loves them too.  So, here’s what I have found works the best.  Trim the stem (I am not really sure that’s what it’s called…but the think stemmy thing in the middle…it’s been a long day.  haha).  Tear or cut the kale into chip size pieces.  It seems like the curlier the kale is, the more it will shrink down when you cook it).  LIGHTLY coat with olive oil (I just toss it all in a bowl).  Too much oil means the kale will either stay soggy or burn.  Not cool.  Then, arrange the kale on a cookie sheet in a single-ish layer.  Don’t be anal about it, you just don’t want tons of layers of kale as it means each layer won’t cook evenly.  Then sprinkle with sea salt.  As I said in a previous post, I am sort of a purist and like the way fruits and veggies taste without a lot of seasoning..so I sprinkle lightly with salt.  But, if you like a little more, have at it.  Anyway…then you want to put it in the oven.  And here’s the important part. Cook it at 250.  You really want to dehydrate it more than cook it.  It takes longer to cook but it is less likely that you will burn it…and it is just yummier.  I generally set the timer for 20 minutes knowing that it will take longer than that.  I check it at 20 minutes so that I can check how much longer I will need.  Basically, you want to catch it right when it crisps up.  You don’t want to let it get brown because then it will taste a little burnt.  But you want to make sure that is crispy…otherwise it will get soggier as it sits…gross.  It just kind of takes practice to know how much longer it will need…not helpful, I know.  Anyway, I make huge-mongous batches and just keep it out on the counter for snacking.  Storing in baggies = bad idea.  It will get soggy and you will feel like you wasted your whole afternoon laboring on kale chips just for them to be ruined.  Not that that has happened to me or anything. 🙂

kale chips

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Food Journey — Day 4

  1. John says:

    All of that sounds pretty good!! I bet you are feeling great with the great diet and exercise. I also like how your ‘diet’ is not a fad but just good for you real food! I have noticed a drop in my energy and less advances in my training when diet went south for a little bit. Now that I am focused back on my diet my training is a ton better! More energy to push through to the next level and to really give it my all. Keep up the good work Jill!!

Leave a Reply

