A journey to the Fredrick Meijer Gardens.

Food Journey day 5 also included a journey to the Fredrick Meijer Gardens in Grand Rapids with my mom and Madi.

Yesterday was about as close to a perfect day as one can have.  I somehow managed to get up at 5:45 to get to the gym before everyone got up.  I am so not a morning person…so that was a major accomplishment for me.  I ran 3 miles and biked 7.  The gym is such a different place early in the morning.  It is so quiet.  And, all the TV’s are on news. haha.  When I got there, 3 of the 6 TV’s were on fox news, 1 was on msnbc, 1 on cnn, and 1 on espn news.  🙂  I don’t really care what is on the tv when I work out but I usually do end up watching a bit of what was on.  Highlight of the news yesterday morning was when the closed captioning referred to Shimon Peres as Sigh Moan Peres.  Yikes.

Anyway, I got home at about 7:45 and the house was still quite.  🙂 So, I was able to get cook myself some eggs with zucchini and peach on the side.  I actually was able to cook and eat my breakfast before Madi’s little voice started calling for me.  It was pretty darn peaceful.

After Madi woke up, we quickly headed out.  We had hoped to get out about 8:30.  So, getting on the road by 9 was not bad.  Let me just say, Madi loved every minute of our trip.  When we first got to the Children’s Garden, there was a big statue of a bear and a bear cub.  I was honestly not sure that we would ever make it beyond that statue she loved it so much.  She started talking to it, saying “hi” over and over again.  I don’t know why, but I responded to her in a deep “bear” voice.  I was standing behind her and I am pretty sure she had no idea that I was the one talking.  She just started giggling and carrying on a pretty extensive conversation.  🙂  We had to really entice her just to move on to something else.

The next thing we saw was a small little fountain area that kids could play in.  Madi jumped right in.  🙂  I didn’t realize going there that she was actually going to get wet…so I didn’t bring her swimsuit.  But luckily I had brought 4 changes of clothes. 🙂  So, I let her just get her clothes all wet.  At some point, I did take her pants off her and let her play in just her diaper…classy, I know=

2

photo (5)

Then we moved on to the boat area.  We didn’t spend quite as much time there though because Madi kept trying to climb into the boat area which is generally frowned upon.  🙂

photo (8) photo (7)

The best part about the day was that Madi was genuinely excited about everything that we did.  At every new statue we came to, she would exclaim “Wow!”  My mom and I both agreed to just let her do what she wanted for as long as she wanted since it was her trip.  We had brought her stroller but she pretty much walked the whole way.  By the time we were heading towards lunch, she was really dragging. Tired girl.  🙂

photo (12) photo (10)

On the way home, she immediately started saying “Sleep Baby” over and over.  And within 5 minutes, she was sound asleep.

photo (17)

As for the food part of the day, I had originally thought I would have to bring a lunch for myself.  But I checked the menu of the gardens restaurant and felt pretty confident that there would be something I could there pretty healthily.  And I was right.  I ordered a salad with spring greens, sweet potato chunks, almonds, blueberry quinoa, and a citrus vinaigrette.  yummy. 🙂  Seriously, it was so good.

photo (13)

I did cheat a little yesterday and had a tiny bit of frozen yogurt with Madi on the way home.  at 9am, when we first started out, she said to me, “eat ice cream.”  Really? 9am?  So, we did stop for some on the way home. I think I had 9-10 bites….no big deal really.  Come on, live a little. 🙂

For dinner, I really wasn’t that hungry so I had some greek yogurt.  And I was exhausted.  So, I took myself to bed at about 8:30.  How exciting is that?!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

