I’m back….

Whew…summer gets crazy doesn’t it?!

After a visit from my brother and his family and some crazy Madi sickness, I am back.

Three days ago, I started a fitness boot camp.  Can I just say that I am so ridiculously sore.  I cannot even believe it.  I have known for a long time that strength training was my weakness.  It is something I have always avoided adding in to my workout because I don’t know what I am doing.  And to be honest, I just don’t like doing it.  Well, the first three days of this boot camp have reminded me why I so desperately need to add these things to my routine.  My arms are so sore that it hurts to just talk on the phone. Haha! I am hoping to see some good results after these 5 weeks are up.  And I know for sure that I will have some good techniques to add to my normal workouts.

Let’s see….here are some new recipes that I have tried.

Part of the meal plan at boot camp is a post workout protein shake.  I have to say, I was really dreading these because I figured they would be disgusting.  Protein shakes just sound gross, right? WRONG!  These don’t call for any gross protein powder.  Just a natural quick way to get 15-20 grams of protein…here are a few I have tried so far…

Mango Raspberry Shake

1/4 c raspberries

1 mango (I used a fresh mango one day and a cup of frozen mango the next. I prefer the frozen because it makes the shake extra cold and more like an ice cream shake. 🙂 but the fresh are really good too)

6 oz. vanilla greek yogurt

1 c. skim milk

Anti-inflammatory Shake

1 c. blueberries

2 T nut butter

1 c milk

2 T ground flaxseed

1 small banana

For breakfast, I have been eating 3 egg whites and 1 whole egg scrambled with a TON of veggies and topped with about 2 T of sharp cheddar.

Another really delicious breakfast recipe is this Fruit and Yogurt Parfait…

1 c greek yogurt (plain or vanilla)

1 t honey

1/2 mixed berries

2 T chopped almonds or walnuts (I used slivered almonds because that’s what I had and I loved the texture)

fruit and yogurt parfait

Dinner-wise, the newest recipe that I tried was for Creamy Zucchini Pasta with Shrimp.  I almost never eat meat but on a very occasional (as in about once every 3 months, I will have some shrimp). So here goes…

4 zucchini, peeled and julienned

9 oz. of shrimp

1 can diced tomatoes

1 avocado

1/4 c fresh basil

2 T water

salt and pepper

1. Saute shrimp in pan

2. In a separate pan, sauté zucchini

3. Blend tomatoes, avocado, basil, water, and salt and pepper

4. Once everything is done cooking, add the zucchini and sauce to the shrimp and mix until sauce is heated.

Here are my notes on the recipe…My knife skills are not amazing so it took me forever to julienne the zucchini.  I know that the idea is for it to seem like pasta, but to me, it still seemed like zucchini.  Plus, I may be totally wrong, but I sort of feel like I am missing out on some nutrients by peeling them.  In the future, I will probably just save myself a lot of time and slice them.

I am not posting a picture because, to be honest, the sauce is a really gross color and if I saw a picture of it, I would not want to eat it.  But it really is good.  The only thing is, it is not very flavorful.  The whole dish is really pretty bland.  But remember, I tend to go light on spices.  So I put very little salt and pepper in it.  Next time I make it, I will be a bit more heavy handed on the salt and pepper.  I will probably also add some crushed red pepper to the sauce for a little more flavor.

My last note on this recipe is that it makes 2 servings…or so they say.  I have no clue how you could eat half of this at one sitting.  It makes A LOT.  I would say it is at least 3 and more like 4 servings.  But if you are really hungry and eat half of it, no worries, you are only eating 1 serving. 🙂

I have been really trying not to do a whole lot of snacking lately.  But here’s a “Trail Mix” that is crazy delicious….

1/4 c unsalted almonds

1/4 c dried cranberries (make sure to get the unsweetened ones)

2 T dark chocolate chips.

I could eat trail mix all day and often don’t realize how much I have eaten because I eat it mindlessly.  So, this is great to just mix up as you want it and then just eat what you’ve made so you don’t go nuts. 🙂

On a personal note, I have been dealing with some crazy illness with Madi.  Two days ago, she woke up looking like this…

madi's face

I have to admit, I panicked a little bit. 🙂  Turns out, she has hand, foot, and mouth disease.  The poor thing is miserable.  Monday night we literally got no sleep because she was just so uncomfortable.  So all day yesterday she was both grumpy and incredibly frantic/manic all day.  She did manage a decent nap and slept well last night after she finally got to sleep.  I feel so bad for her.  She keeps coming up to me and saying “cheek hurt” and rubbing her face on the couch, a pillow, my leg, anything she can find.

While we were at the pediatrician, I also found out that she has another ear infection.  I was somewhat suspicious that she might have one but I never know with her.  Not only does she have an ear infection, but one of the tubes that she got put in 2 months ago is already out and the other one is plugged and therefore not functioning.

So, we went to the ENT yesterday who wants to put tubes in a third time but use bigger tubes this time.  I am just feeling hesitant because I feel like I have already put her through two surgeries and they haven’t helped.  And I just wonder what kind of long term impact these surgeries are having on her ear drum.  Additionally, the doctor wants me to consider eliminating all dairy from her diet.  She suggested waiting until after getting the next set of tubes in to try it as it is a pretty effortful dietary change…especially since all of Madi’s favorite foods are dairy.  But, it seems like if it would potentially help after the surgery, it would potentially help now.  I am just sort of torn about the whole thing.  Allergy tests show that she is not allergic to dairy but the ENT said that dairy can cause extra secretions in the upper respiratory system even if you aren’t allergic.  So, since Madi struggles with an extra junky upper respiratory system, eliminating dairy might be helpful.  But I hate that she is going to have to always bring her own special foods places, etc.  I also don’t know if this is a long term thing or something she might grow out of.  Any thoughts??

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

